Tags

, , , ,

Welcome to my blog. I am going to share my efforts to become a better science teacher. Teachers must constantly hone their skills. By no means do I consider myself an expert teacher, but I will get their someday. This fall I will be starting my sixth year of teaching early elementary science. From day one, my principal hired me to engage children in hands on science. I will talk more about my classroom this fall.

Every summer I work on some sort of science professional development. Over the past years I have done weeklong weather, forestry, plant workshops. I was rejected for the NOAA Teachers at Sea program the one summer that I did not do a PD. This summer I have taken on my most rigorous PD yet. I am currently in week three of a Research Experience for Teachers in Engineering and Computer Science at NYU Polytechnic. In order for me to motivate my students to become engineers and scientists, I must expose them to what those careers are like. For more info on the SMART RET program, follow this link:
http://mechatronics.poly.edu/smart/

